“eggy” breakfast bread

Somehow chickpea flour gives things a custardy/eggy texture, in a way that I love, even though I don’t like eggs. I think this easy-to-make gluten-free and vegan bread would be a perfect side dish for a brunch.


I highly recommend this recipe. I followed the directions on this one (!), with the only exception being that I had to bake the bread for a few minutes longer than Katie’s recipe said. This bread is fluffy and lightly sweet, falling somewhere between socca and cornbread on the bread spectrum. I loved the way it tasted as is, but if you want a sweeter treat, I bet jam or applesauce on top would be tasty! This bread was so good that I made it again two days later, this time doubling the recipe to fill a 9″x9″ pan.

~ by ellen on November 16, 2012.

One Response to ““eggy” breakfast bread”

  1. Oo those really do look tantalizing and moist. I tend to substitute regular flour for chick pea flour too or soya flour (‘okara’ from tofu making it’s not really flour but I call it that because it’s awesome for substituting in desserts).

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

