movies in 2010 (so far)

An image from "How to Train Your Dragon"

Here’s a bit of a retrospective movie review list of the movies I’ve seen so far this year:

Up in the Air – I had high expectations for this one, what with all of the Oscar nominations, and it seemed potentially interesting and funny. In reality, I found it boring with a side of predictable and depressing. I don’t think I laughed at all, but I may have smirked a few times. Meh. I give it a C+.

An Education – This one was interesting. Props to Carey Mulligan for evoking Audrey Hepburn at her cutest…I feel it was almost like a 60s “Roman Holiday,” but with the naive girl being introduced to the sketchy side of London rather than the romantic side of Rome, if that makes any sense. It’s not such wholesome good fun as “Roman Holiday” though, you’ll probably feel a bit icky and squirmy while watching the plot play out. I enjoyed the scene with Jenny carrying her cello in the rain, and the fabulous 60s fashion. B+.

Alice in Wonderland – The aspect of this movie that I really felt was special was the seamless melding of totally computer generated talking critters with somewhat or maybe not at all computer-altered human actors. It felt a bit long though. Loved the Red Queen’s huge head and all of the dresses worn by Alice while she was in Wonderland. B+.

How to Train Your Dragon – I thought this movie was very creative and fun! The animation was beautiful. Like many movies aimed at children, it seemed to have a take-home message for its audience. Although obviously things could have ended badly for the kid who tried to train a dragon, I really liked the movie’s ideals of not being afraid to challenge what we think we know, and trying to avoid unnecessary violence. I give it an A.

The Runaways – Well, I haven’t seen this one yet, but I would like to. Have you seen it? What did you think?

One response

  1. are these grades on the US system or the Dal system?

Leave a Reply

