french onion soup

French onion soup is one of those foods that I used to love having at restaurants, before I knew or cared about things like beef stock. I’ve always assumed that it was a “fancy restaurant food” that I wouldn’t be able to veganize at home, until i came across this recipe that claimed it could be made quickly and vegan! I made it last night and it was amazing! I wouldn’t call it a quick meal to prepare (it took me about an hour), but it was easy. The only little changes I made to the recipe were using a tablespoon of Earth Balance instead of butter, and adding some garlic to the onions once they had browned (but before adding the flour). As for the bread and cheese toppings, I didn’t have any hearty bread around, but a toasted bagel covered with grated soy “mozzarella” worked surprisingly well. What a tasty meal…I am glad to have French onion soup back in my life!

Leave a comment