the anne factor

The Daily Post at WordPress prompted me to name a book that changed my life. There are many books that have taught me something or given me a new perspective on the world. But there is one book that truly stands out – it that has brought me to where I am today, quite literally.

source

Anne of Green Gables. I think I saw the movie before I read the book, but I absolutely treasured the entire series of books, and have gone back to watch the movie many times as well. Anne and her wholesome shenanigans, enchantment with literature, and love/hate relationship with Gilbert captured my imagination. And who could resist falling in love with Prince Edward Island after seeing it through Anne’s eyes? Anne was born in Nova Scotia and didn’t have such lovely experiences here as she did in PEI, but these books gave me warm and fuzzy feelings about all of the Canadian Maritimes. So when Jeff asked me what I thought about him applying for a job in Halifax, even though it’s a bit farther from my family than I would typically have considered, I said go for it. And when he came here and thought the job looked good, we decided to move here, at least in part because of the “Anne Factor.”

One response

  1. […] re-reading the books now makes me wonder if Anne was more of a role model for me than I realized. I’ve mentioned before that these books were a non-negligible factor in my decision to move to Nova Scotia. But upon […]

Leave a Reply

