remicade

I had my first Remicade infusion last week. Remicade is a drug that is used to treat a number of autoimmune diseases, including Crohn’s. The drug is an antibody to tumor necrosis factor-alpha (TNF-alpha), a chemical that cells release to regulate inflammation. So basically, the presence of Remicade in a patient’s body should prevent inflammation that is mediated by TNF-alpha. This drug can’t be taken in pill form because the patient’s digestive system would destroy the drug’s activity. Instead, Remicade is adminstered by an IV infusion.

My first infusion appointment lasted three and half hours! When I arrived at the infusion clinic, I was happy to see that rather than a typical hospital setting, there were four cushy recliners in a room with large windows and a big flat screen TV. The TV was off though, as the other three patients were reading or napping while they were being infused. The first thing my nurse did was weigh me, since Remicade is administered according to your body weight. After getting some more information about my medical situation, she hooked up my IV and I started getting infused with a steroid (I think it was hydrocortisone), which is used to reduce one’s chance of having an allergic reaction to Remicade. Then the Remicade was infused, slowly at first (so that if I had an allergic reaction, there wouldn’t be so much in my system), then faster. As I was being infused, I read a book (The Kite Runner – fantastic!!) and two nurses checked my body temperature, pulse, and blood pressure every half hour or so. Once the full dose of Remicade had been infused, I had to wait for an hour, again to make sure that I wasn’t having a bad reaction (watching for signs like itchyness, hives, or flushing). I felt fine and headed back to work afterwards.

My next infusion is two weeks after the first one, then another four weeks later, and from then on I should be going regularly every two months. I’ll also need to continue with the monthly blood tests, to make sure my body is tolerating the Imuran and Remicade. I’ve been feeling pretty good the last couple of days – I really hope these treatments are starting to work!

Leave a Reply

