gluttony at gluuteny

I had been to Gluuteny, a gluten-free and dairy-free bakery in Pittsburgh, once when I lived in Pittsburgh and still happily ate gluten. I think I got an apple turnover or something like that. I remember it tasted good, but was rather expensive, so I stuck with the other bakeries in my neighborhood that were a bit cheaper.

Now that I’m not eating gluten, my perspective on prices for gluten-free baked goods has changed, and I expect to pay an arm and a leg for any gluten-free baked good. Also, my expectations for how good said baked good will taste have decreased. So when I was in Pittsburgh a couple of weeks ago, I was very pleased to find that I could buy a blueberry muffin, frosted sugar cookie, and cream-filled chocolate cupcake all for less than six dollars! And I was even more pleased to find that the muffin, cookie, and cupcake all tasted absolutely delicious! There was no weird texture or taste that hinted at the lack of gluten – they just tasted great. So, a big thumbs up to Gluuteny. I hope to see more bakeries like this one!

One response

  1. Yay! I’m glad that you were able to enjoy some affordable tasty treats!

Leave a Reply

