carrot cake muffins

I had never made any sort of carrot cake before, largely due to Jeff’s fondness of eating all of our CSA carrots. But with him out of town, it was up to me to eat our carrots, and I do love eating my veggies via muffins (e.g., spiced zucchini mini muffins, chocolate zucchini muffins, garden muffins). I found a great recipe at Honey and Spice, and adapted it slightly.

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 3 tablespoons oat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ~1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons grated carrots (about 2 medium carrots)
  • 1 cup unsweetened dried shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 4 tablespoons oil
  • 4 tablespoons apple sauce
  • 1 1/8 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 7/8 cup maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350ºF and prepare muffin pan. Mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl and mix wet ingredients together in a small bowl. Add wet mixture to the dry mixture and combine well. Transfer batter to muffin pan and bake for about 25 minutes. Makes 20 muffins.

I love the light carrot and coconut flavor, and the little bit of crunch from the walnuts. These muffins are moist and fluffy, but a bit on the crumble-prone side, so next time I make them I might try adding a teaspoon of xanthan gum.

2 responses

  1. Hi Ellen, I’m glad that you enjoyed your carrot cake muffins. It’s a pity they turned out a little crumbly – I’ve never had that problem. Hopefully the xanthan gum will fix it, but I’m against using that stuff. Good luck!

    1. hi linda! they weren’t terribly crumbly, but perhaps it was my maple syrup substitution that caused that difference. agave is a bit stickier, and might have helped stick your muffins together. in any event, thanks for sharing your great recipes, and for stopping by here =)

Leave a Reply

