crohn’s advocate

While I was home for Thanksgiving, my parents gave me an issue of Crohn’s Advocate, a little magazine full of advice for people with Crohn’s disease. The issue they gave me focused on travel tips for folks with Crohn’s, and although I had already figured out most of the helpful hints the magazine described, I always like to read about other people’s¬†experiences with Crohn’s. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in the funny little things I do in order to make my day-to-day life mostly normal, and I also enjoy seeing people who won’t let the disease keep them from being active and taking on the world. And this quote from¬†Frank Fritz (a Crohnie from the television show American Pickers) really resonated with me:

Crohn’s is like a duck. Ducks look calm, floating quietly on the surface of the water, but underneath they are paddling like crazy. It’s the same for people with Crohn’s – on the outside you can’t really tell, but I’m working really hard to stay in control as much as I can.

For more information about Crohn’s Advocate magazine (you can get a free subscription if you live in the US!), or for tips on living with Crohn’s, visit crohnsadvocate.com.

~ by ellen on November 29, 2011.

2 Responses to “crohn’s advocate”

  1. you’re great!

  2. love the duck analogy

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

