5 things i learned about myself at 30

1. I have hazel eyes. All my life I thought I had brown eyes. As a child, I identified with Van Morrison’s “Brown Eyed Girl” in the most simplistic of ways and always perked up when it was played. Then, this summer, when I was getting fingerprinted as part of the process for my Canadian permanent residence application, the police officer that filled out my fingerprint card informed me that my eyes are actually hazel! I looked up the definitions of the different eye colors, and he was right. I had a brief mini identity crisis and moved on with my life.

2. I don’t hate all condiments. I just don’t like the ones i was exposed to as a child (ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.). But I absolutely love hummus, guacamole, italian dressing, salsa, kimchi, etc.

3. I like mushrooms and raspberries. Things change. I still don’t want to eat a giant unadorned Portabella burger, but I do like the little mushrooms, especially mixed in with other stuff. And I like raspberries, full stop. Along the same lines, I no longer pick raisins out of things. I’m not going out of my way to eat raisins, but I’m also not going out of my way to avoid eating them. I think that broadening your horizons and realizing that you may like foods that you wrote off as a child is part of becoming an adult (yes, I am still in the process of becoming an adult).

4. I’m kind of a country girl at heart.  I grew up in the country, but when the time to spread my wings arrived, I moved to a big city (Boston). I enjoyed city life and didn’t look back. I began to wonder how people could live without being able to easily walk to a Thai restaurant from their home. And so for my entire adult life, until this year, I lived in the city: Boston, then Pittsburgh, then Halifax. But the noise started to get to me. The crowds started to become annoying. Carrying heavy bags of groceries for several blocks in the cold rain lost its charm. So Jeff and I made a big lifestyle change and bought a house in the country. The great thing about the Halifax area is that you can live “in the country” with only a 10 mile commute to get downtown. Seeing the ocean everyday, as well as deer, birds, wildflowers, and butterflies brings me so much joy. The only noise we typically hear at home now is birds chirping, the occasional dog barking, and foghorns blowing on foggy days and nights (a charming sound unless it’s keeping you awake at night). And we’ve learned how to cook our own delicious Thai food, so I feel like I’ve really got it all!

5. I’m still scared of thunderstorms. I thought I had outgrown this fear since I was becoming progressively less freaked out by major thunderstorms over the years that I was living in various cities. But now that I’m living in the country again, that anxious feeling that used to accompany thunder and lightning is back. Luckily, we don’t get as many severe thunderstorms in Nova Scotia as in the northeast US.

One response

  1. Ellen -enjoyed your thoughts on your life at the end of your 30th year -you spent a lot of time -and now I know more about your likes every day! Also enjoyed the 25 ways to wear a scarf -I might even try some of the ideas. LOVE MOM

Leave a Reply

