denver

Denver has some great vegan and gluten-free food! We had a delicious dinner at a vegetarian restaurant called City, O’ City. This place has an awesome comfort food-laden menu, including vegan mac and cheese and soft pretzels! They also have a number of vegan and gluten-free options. I had the macro plate, which contained spicy tofu and quinoa with a miso sauce, along with steamed greens, pickled carrots, and kimchi. Yum! Jeff had the tofu schnitzel, which he absolutely loved, and even non-vegetarian Greg enjoyed his City, O’ burger. We also enjoyed their extensive tea menu.

We went out to Sweet Action for ice cream. I was delighted to find that in addition to lots of creative dairy ice cream flavors, they also had several vegan options: two vegan ice cream flavors and two sorbet flavors. They even had homemade vegan chipwiches, which I totally would have gotten if they were gluten-free. I had a dish of the vegan ginger ice cream, which was super tasty! There are also some really cool stores across the street – Buffalo Exchange and Fancy Tiger.

I met my friend Lindsay at another vegetarian restaurant, called Watercourse, for lunch. I had enchiladas and a huge frosted sugar cookie (both vegan and gluten-free). Lindsay had a seitan grinder, and her son nibbled on a huge Hostess-style vegan cream-filled chocolate cupcake. This place is very kid-friendly and has a really nice patio.

Cheesman Park

3 responses

  1. I’m reading this just before dinner, and you’re making me even hungrier!

  2. I will have to try City O’ City. Thank you for the recommendation. I am always looking for yummy vegetarian cuisine that I can convince my husband to try out! 🙂

    1. it’s definitely a great vegetarian restaurant for non-vegetarians! i hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

