vegan and gluten-free vienna

When most of us think about eating in Vienna, foods like schnitzel and sachertorte come to mind. I had also heard that ice cream is very popular in Austria. Unfortunately, none of these foods fit within my dietary constraints, so I was a little concerned about finding things that I could eat during my week in Vienna. As it turned out, there were lots of yummy things for me to eat in Vienna!

Naschmarkt is a huge outdoor market with lots of fresh produce…

…as well as many small restaurants and specialty food shops. One of the bakeries had a small selection of gluten-free rolls that were really tasty!

We also stumbled upon a tiny ice cream shop on Rotenturmstrasse (between Stephansplatz and Schwedenplatz), called Eis Greissler, that had several vegan ice cream flavors! Even their cones are vegan (although not gluten-free), and all of their ice cream is organic. So yummy!

Indian restaurants are always good news for me when I’m traveling. We loved the food at Zum Inder (shown below) and Nirvana.

We also had a great dinner at Akakiko, a Japanese restaurant.

And the grocery stores also had plenty of food to keep me going. I enjoyed the “fruits of the forest” flavored soy yogurt for breakfast, chocolate soy milk and bananas for snacks, and these gluten-free cookies were a very tasty dessert.

The rolls were disappointingly dry and bland-tasting, but it was a good effort. Almost every grocery store we went to had an orange juice squeezing station, which I thought was pretty cool. We were happy to find peanut butter as well – never a sure thing in other countries!

And I also discovered my new favorite snack in the grocery stores of Vienna. I’ll post about that once I’ve successfully replicated it at home!

4 responses

  1. Hi Ellen,
    I could go for some of that Indian food right now! I hope you are having a good weekend.
    Amy

  2. Thanks for the tip about the vegan ice cream place! 🙂

    1. you’re welcome! it’s so yummy….i hope you get to stop by and try it yourself! 🙂

  3. Glad that you enjoyed the food at Zum Inder. Thanks for the review.foos

Leave a Reply

