new england aquarium

When I was a college student in Boston and needed a distraction from stressful academic stuff, I often went to the Museum of Fine Arts or the New England Aquarium (both of these awesome places were free with my Northeastern student ID). Now, more than ten years later, we visited Boston for the first time with our little one, and had to hit up the New England Aquarium.

Many things I loved haven’t changed in all these years. Myrtle the sea turtle, now 95 years old, is still swimming laps in the big tank. The little blue penguins are still being adorable alongside the big tank. I was pleased to see that there are now sea lions outside, but I sure missed the sea otters that I used to watch playing out there. [Does anyone know why the otters aren’t there anymore? Google has failed me on that question.]

I couldn’t believe how crowded the aquarium was, but I guess that’s what you get on a cold rainy day during the school vacation week between Christmas and New Year’s. The jellyfish area was probably the quietest part of the building, so at least I was able to get a couple of nice shots of the photogenic jellies!

Leave a Reply

